Let's see how to restrict users on Instagram, the popular photo and video social network, in addition to detailing what differences there are with block. And Instagram included the option to restrict at the end of 2019, an option that not everyone knows and that is very useful for those who want avoid interactions with certain users without needing to block them. Therefore, we offer you all the details about the option to restrict, what it is for and what differences there are with blocking someone, so that you have at your disposal a friendlier tool than directly blocking users, something that could affect others' perception of you account of instagram.
How to restrict users on Instagram
Index of contents
The main advantage of the Instagram restrict option is that restricted users They won't know they've been restricted. Thus, and unlike blocking someone (whose interactions will be completely nullified), restricted users will be able to continue viewing your photos and Stories, in addition to following commenting on your photos, send you messages and other typical Instagram options, but he will be the only user who will see these interactions and will not be able to know if you have read his messages or not, since the “seen” indicator is no longer enabled.
According to Instagram, these are the effects of the restrict option:
- Limit interactions by certain people temporarily without having to block or unfollow them. These people will not receive any notification about the restriction.
- Only you and the person you restrict will be able to see their new comments on your posts. You can approve individual comments to make them visible to everyone.
- The chat will be moved to the message requests section, so they won't be able to see when you're online if you've read messages.
Therefore, only you will have the option to make visible for the rest of the users, the specific interactions of restricted users, whether comments or direct messages. And restricting is a “softer” option than definitive blocking, since this option prevents the person from I can continue viewing your account from Instagram.
If at this point you still intend to restrict someone without having to block them, Follow the steps below to restrict users on Instagram:
- Access your Instagram profile.
- Click on the your profile picture.
- A side menu will open; Click on the gear wheel icon Setting.
- Access the section Privacy.
- Select the option Restricted accounts.
- Now you just have to choose the Instagram users you want to restrict.
From that moment on, the users you have chosen through Restricted accounts They will still be able to interact with your posts, but you won't see them reflected unless you want to.